How to update from iOS 13.1 & iPadOS beta to final release

Apple has released iOS 13.1 and iPadOS 13.1 final versions to all compatible iPhone, iPad and iPod touch models. If you were on a developer beta or public beta, follow this simple guide to switch from iOS 13.1 beta/iPadOS beta to official iOS 13.1/iPadOS 13.1 public release. This can be done without formatting your device, losing any data, reinstalling any apps or even using iTunes.

How to exit iPadOS 13.1 & iOS 13.1 beta program to upgrade to final release

Whether you used a developer beta profile or a public beta profile to enroll your device in Apple’s testing programs, the same method applies to moving back to a stable release. There isn’t usually much different in the last beta and the final stable release with Apple’s operating systems, however, the performance is always better with stable releases compared to beta ones.

The first step to get rid of a beta build is to remove the beta profile that was installed.

  • Go to Settings > General > Profiles.
iPadOS Settings
  • Locate the configuration profile in the list of profiles on your iPhone or iPad. It will likely have a title similar to the profile in the below screenshot.
iPadOS Settings Profiles
  • Tap on the profile to access its details.
iPadOS Remove Profile
  • Tap on ‘Remove Profile’. You will be asked for confirmation if you really want to remove the profile. Confirm by tapping ‘Remove’ again.
iPadOS Settings Remove Profile
  • If you have a passcode setup on your device, which you should, enter it here to confirm removal.
iPadOS Remove Profile Enter Passcode
  • Before the next step, restart your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. This is very important, otherwise you will not see the final release.
  • Go to Settings > General > Software Update, and wait for the final release to appear. Tap `Download and Install` and let the process complete.
iPadOS Settings Software Update

The update process might take a while. Make sure that you have enough free storage and battery capacity on your iPhone or iPad to complete the upgrade process. Once this is complete, you will not longer receive beta updates. You can switch back anytime by reinstalling a beta profile.